The Dying Flame


Oh, that’s just the breeze,
they told me-
When I flickered in fear
at all the leaves around;
He can do nothing to you,
they continued
As my flames danced
Sorrowfully to a stranger’s tune;

That’s just a lamp,
they told me-
it can do nothing to
who you are, the eternal;
Even as borrowed oil
fed me yesterday’s dreams
Soot-soiled, I was but a
doppelganger to what was true.

They laughed at me
When I cried, my tears were lost
like dewdrops in a desert
Or the music in a soul;
They said it was all nothing,
Nothing to worry about-
Indeed nothing at all, my flame is gone-
Nor will I cry any more.

Leave a Reply

