For Lulu

Four legs and a tail;
Vixen eyes and ready for love;
Wrapped in my arms, you came home
into a family of four,
four paws multiplied by three.

We dreamed big, we drew up plans
you were the wicked bitch
that we wanted to raise, the ghastly hound
of our Baskervilles, the terror
of a calm neighbourhood.

We pleaded, cajoled, beat ourselves up
trying to teach you to stay away
And all the while you toiled away
just to snuggle up next to me
Or to rub a wet snout against my face.

Oh! how have blind I have been,
in wanting you to grow up too soon.
Blind to the child within and all too eager
to prove my point; Your tender feet
crushed in my adult wisdom.

You’re just a dog, yet I wonder
about the lesson I learnt;
children need love more than space-
and a family is born not from rules
but from togetherness and hugs.

3 thoughts on “For Lulu

Leave a Reply

