Toi et moi

On a hot summer day,
I wrote your name with mine
On the sands of possibility.
I was in love-
with the trees, the ocean
and that timeless state of joy.
After that came the rains.
Every shower whispered your name.
I pretended not to hear
and romanced with the puddles.
As flowers shriveled in the cold,
I was numb to your touch, my love
Winter’s kiss made me forget.
Yet, spring was on its way
at the bazaar, our eyes met.
The tune of our life had been set
In stone, a long time ago.
Amidst the melee and the dust
Our story is reborn.

4 thoughts on “Toi et moi

Leave a Reply

