Prayers for the New Year..

Le soleil levant

It is that time of the year again. Time to sing Auld Lang Syne and ring in the New Year.

I would like to ask, when has the world ever been old for it to start afresh? We are, all of us, ensconced in the wraps of eternity. Days roll into weeks, weeks into months, months into years and years into obscurity. Beneath all these rituals and the merry making of a New Year, let me not stop appreciating the beauty of each morning. Each morning, which comes to me, ‘like a gilt-edged letter with some unheard-of news’, as a poet sang not so long ago.

Let me not give up reason while learning to see the beauty of each moment. Can balance be that elusive, in this seesaw of a world, kept stable by the forces of the good and the bad? I would like to pursue it. If I fail, well, I would have at least tried.

Let me remain ever close to the soil, to nature, to my self. Let other influences be just that, influences. Let them be embellishments to my self, never my whole self.

Let me never take things for granted. The winding rivulet, the musical sunset, the lashing waves- let me look at them always with eyes of wonder. Let me marvel at their beauty and hence, be renewed.

Let me always respect an idea, good or bad. For it is these little things that go on to make the grand symphony, the timeless classic.

Let  me never try to define myself, allowing my soul to run like the breeze, accepting for myself its changing hues and transient moods.

Finally, let me never let myself down.

I wish you all a very Happy New Year. Keep learning, keep smiling, keep exploring. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Prayers for the New Year..

  1. //Let me not give up reason while learning to see the beauty of each moment. Can balance be that elusive, //

    yes it is very elusive …and very challenging not that its impossible.

    //Let me remain ever close to the soil, to nature, to my self. Let other influences be just that, influences. Let them be embellishments to my self, never my whole self.

    Let me never take things for granted. The winding rivulet, the musical sunset, the lashing waves- let me look at them always with eyes of wonder. Let me marvel at their beauty and hence, be renewed.

    Let me always respect an idea, good or bad. For it is these little things that go on to make the grand symphony, the timeless classic.

    Let me never try to define myself, allowing my soul to run like the breeze, accepting for myself its changing hues and transient moods.

    Finally, let me never let myself down.//

    very impressive and perfectly idealistic .. if asked…:)
    to have the head in the clouds and the feet on the ground.

Leave a Reply

